American airborne

So the American airborne have always been one of my favourite parts of WW2 and with the latest releases I thought it was high time to get a full army of the famous 101st.

This will be the army I’m taking to Operation: Shellshock in September so this will be a painting/army building set of posts over the coming months.

This first one is my test run at the infantry paint scheme and I must say, I’m really pleased with how they’ve turned out. The miniatures are the ones from the Open fire/hit the beach hard plastic sprues.

Step 1. Prime them with a sand colour.

Step 2. Coat them with Vallejo Middlestone (I like my paras to be a bit more yellow than green).

Step 3. Dry brush with Vallejo khaki.

Step 4. Helmets, grenades (and if you’re a sadist like me, knee and elbow pads) in Vallejo US dark green.

Step 5. Pick out the webbing with Vallejo German cam. Beige. and the boots in a 50/50 mix of Vallejo red leather and Vallejo German cam. brown.

Step 6. Guns and entrenching tool handles in Vallejo German cam. brown.

Step 7. Metal parts (guns/knives) in GW iron.

Step 8. Wash with GW Agra’s earthshade.

Step 9. Pick out flesh parts in GW Cadian flesh and the leaf camo on the helmets with Vallejo Russian uniform.

Step 10. Wash flesh with GW Ogryn flesh.

Step 11. Highlight flesh with 50/50 mix of GW Cadian flesh and Kislev flesh.

Step 12. Base as your preference. I used GW Stirland battle more dry brushed with Zandri dust. Then, attach gamer grass and clumped flock with PVA.

I hope you found that useful and if you haven’t bought a ticket for Operation: Shellshock yet, get it now and I’ll see you there.

Leave a comment